Sweet Mother's Kitchen

User rating 

9 reviews
Venue Image
5 Courtenay Pl,
Wellington Central

(04) 385 4444

Sweet Mother's Kitchen Information

Come on down for all day dining-with heated outdoor seating Sweet Mother’s Kitchen on Courtenay Place. Serving Supreme Organic Fair Trade coffee, milkshakes and juices. Fully licensed - great selection of wines, lots of Mexican beers plus New Zealand favourites. Cocktail list inspired by drinks of New Orleans. Specialising in friendly and relaxed home cooking, Sweet Mother’s Kitchen draws on influences from New Orleans and Mexican snack food.

Opening Hours
Sun-Thur 8.00-22.30
Fri,Sat 8.00-late
Not Necessary on Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun
Avg Food Spend
$$$ per person
Food Info
Bar Menu, Take Away Service, Breakfast Menu
Drink Info
Cocktail List available
Children welcome

Kids Menu
Eftpos imageMastercard imageVisa image

Sweet Mother's Kitchen User reviews

Add your own review for Sweet Mother's Kitchen
Sort By:
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Very busy place but can get in easily enough for breakfast if you go early-ish. Huevos rancheros, breakfast burritos and plenty more exotic things to try are on offer alongside the usual eggs in toast. They cater for lunch and dinner as well, and there are cakes! I always enjoy the food here with very few issues in the many times I have been here. A goodie for weekend breakfast, brunch or lunch or a coffee/tea/cake stop anytime. Quirky interior and people guaranteed.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Sweet Mother's is cheap and wonderfully cheerful. The catch is everyone knows about it and it's very busy so you tend to have to wait for a table, service, your food, and to pay. My personal favourites are Po Boys and Fish Tacos (always with a side of curly fries), and they must be commended for their great range of non-alcoholic beverages.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer melanie42
Great location and great food. My favourites are the Po Boys, the fish tacos and the curly fries. Just don't go thinking you are going to get great service though. Sweet Mother's 'brother' restaurant Thunderbird Cafe, is a lot better (just not as good a location).

User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer MariaC
Recently dined here on the weekend - I love coming here, it's always so busy! Affordable prices, good service, funky atmosphere!
I had the Chipolte prawn burrito and curly fries. Their fries are the best! Waiter was super friendly and polite. Always look forward to coming back!
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer Nickp
We have contacted view Auckland & asked them to edit our previous review as Sweet Mothers Kitchen have put things right. We went for another meal there & the staff were very obliging & the food was fantastic and extremely delicious. I guess we just struck a bad night before.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Nickp
We should have listened to all the recent bad reviews & not dined here!
We hadn’t been for a while but went on Saturday 12th May.
We ordered Hurricane drinks but were told we couldn’t have them as the alcohol wasn’t available.
We enjoyed entrees of curly fries & hush puppies. Unfortunately our mains were nothing near the standard of previous visits & left us feeling very disappointed. I had black beans which were so darn dry, at least I could mix the sour cream in to moisten them up & in all honesty anyone could do a far better job at home. I had specifically asked for plenty of cheese as I’m vegetarian. My husband & I played spot the cheese as there was hardly any to be found. Hubby ordered Jambalaya, this was the biggest disappointment of our evening. The plate arrived with a dried up, overdone tomato rice like it was made a day before & reheated on order. The pieces of celery in it were raw & crunchy like they had been added last. It was horrible. We mentioned it to a waiter & got told Sorry about that & he walked off.
We ordered dessert which was nice apart from the cheap so called ice-cream which spoilt the taste. As we paid we told the girl behind the counter about the jambalaya, didn’t bother mentioning the black beans & she said “ sorry to hear that” we further said how disappointing it is as we haven’t struck this before here or in New Orleans where I have spent time or even at Voodoo ( which of course is sadly closed) She then questioned if we told our waiter, I said we told a waiter when he finally came near our table. We then got told abruptly she would let the chef know. How nice, that really made us feel so much better about our experience at Sweet Mothers. We had to smile as we left when we thought about the sign upon paying “ be nice or leave” I wonder why a restaurant feels the need to have a sign stating such? We feel very disappointed at the mains & the attitude of both staff we spoke to. We are not surprised to read theyve had so many staff
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer marybee
I finally tried out Sweet Mother's Kitchen in Wellington - YUM! I had a Po Boy - pork roast with coleslaw in beautiful thick bread.
Good to know they have a little one's menu too!
User icon
StarNo StarNo StarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer mrt
I would like to complain for the tone and the bad service we have been treated tonight at Sweet Mother's.7,45pm: we phoned in to make a reservation and the guy on the phone said they don't take reservations but they have a waiting list if we show up in person.7,00pm I physically shown up and asked to get a table for 4 of us. The guy at the counter, put my name down and said there was a 30 minutes wait ( at least ) and we accepted to wait even thou we were a bin in a hurry to go to the movie which starts at 8,45.8,00pm After waiting outside standing for an hour we decided to get inside and ask again if our table was about to be ready because we saw a table of 6 freeing up.8,01pm The manager said the people who were sitting outside decided they were cold and he may wanted to move them inside to the table that we were about to get. When I replied trying to explain we were waiting outside standing since one hour he replied saying, literally:" you are breaking my balls".I think a bar manager should be professional with customers and never use words as such. I really got offended, because we had no intention to be rude and I never been treated so badly by a bar tender before.8,03pm After replying his words, he also told us to go have dinner somewhere else, and refused to serve us dinner.I have been there before and I experienced the food, which was ok for the price. This place was also recommended by friends, and I think the rest of the stuff are kind and serve the customers in a nice way, but I really got a bad experience tonight, and I have to say this has been the worst service of all restaurants in Wellington.
User icon
StarStarStarStarNo Star
Reviewer JaneDoe
Usually pretty busy but its no surprise really - those curly fries are delish!!
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewWellington in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.

Get Listed


Latest Restaurants User Reviews

  • Cafe Figg
    A nice funky little place that’s great for brunch or lunch or jus...

    OlgaM_LocalHero on 30/11/2019 @ 6:50 p.m.
  • Cafe California
    Love the gardening centre cafes! Very nice selection of cabinet f...

    OlgaM_LocalHero on 30/11/2019 @ 6:45 p.m.
  • Hillside Kitchen and Cellar
    Hillside is AMAZING! From the moment you walk in the door and are...

    SarahK_LocalHero on 14/11/2019 @ 12:12 p.m.
  • Jackson Street Sprig & Fern Tavern
    Very nice modern pub. Lots of craft beers on tap for those who ar...

    OlgaM_LocalHero on 29/09/2019 @ 11:19 p.m.
  • Mexico
    Very nice addition to Jackson street. Reasonably priced, great qu...

    OlgaM_LocalHero on 29/09/2019 @ 11:17 p.m.
Hitwise Award Winner